Dodge Dart Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Who's done an oil change and can report what is involved with the Cartridge filter's on the 1.4's

·
Registered
211 Posts
Oh. I'm new to this style filter. Thanks

·
Registered
211 Posts
He is the man!!! I'm glad he is on our side. He has been a lot of help on here.

·
Registered
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Approx 1/2 qt remains in filter housing until filter is removed. Once removed, it drains into the crankcase.
Hey Fnky can you post the page in the SM on filter change in the 1.4?

·
Registered
635 Posts
Run the engine until achieving normal operating temperature.
Position the vehicle on a level surface and turn the engine off.
Remove the engine cover.

CAUTION: When performing an engine oil change, the oil filter cap must be removed. Removing the oil filter cap releases oil held within the oil filter cavity and allows it to drain into the sump. Failure to remove the cap prior to reinstallation of the drain plug will not allow complete draining of the used engine oil.

Place an oil absorbent cloth around the oil filter housing at the base of the oil filter cap.

NOTE: The oil filter is attached to the oil filter cap.

Rotate the oil filter cap counterclockwise and remove the cap and filter from the oil filter housing.
Raise and support the vehicle.
Place a suitable drain pan under the crankcase drain plug.
Remove the drain plug from oil pan and allow the oil to drain into the pan. Inspect the drain plug threads for stretching or other damage. Replace the drain plug and gasket if damaged.
Install the drain plug in the oil pan and tighten to 27 N·m (20 ft. lbs.).
Lower the vehicle.
Remove the oil filter from the oil filter cap.
Remove and discard the O-ring seal.

NOTE: It is not necessary to pre-oil the oil filter or fill the oil filter housing.

Lightly lubricate the new O-ring seal with clean engine oil.
Install the O-ring seal on the filter cap.