Dodge Dart Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
TFT + 8.4 + RE2/RB5 + Nav + uconnect mods thread (heavily Condensed!)

After reading through over 200 pages of info I have decided it would be nice to have a Straight forward thread listing every available option and difference as well as order of simplest to most difficult so anyone looking into doing this will have a 1 or 2 page look-up. Bam!

I'm not yet an expert, so anything anyone sees that should be added or Corrected, please don't hesitate to do so.

1. TFT ; Simply upgrading to TFT cluster looks to be one of the simplest upgrades involving only a few pieces. The TFT cluster, EVIC 6 button switch + proxi + correct the odometer reading Or just get/ wait for vehicle to match Cluster when it goes in. (Proxi corrects flashing odometer as well as some other issues but will not change cluster odometer reading)

TFT cluster swap is plug and play + proxi on all models including base radio. (TFT clusters were the same for each and any given model year with same features)

Some have had cluster odometer reading changed to match their vehicles average cost being 100-200.00. Most just get cluster with closest matching odometer and/ or wait till they match to do swap. Proxi can be done by dealer or you can do it yourself.

TFT cluster how to links;
https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/dodge-dart-electronics/12718-base-premium-digital-tft-instrument-cluster-upgrade.html

https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/dodge-dart-electronics/5188-what-needed-add-8-4-re2-radio-tft.html

ALFAOBD Proxi links;
https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/dodge-dart-electronics/43097-alfaobd-advanced-diagnostics-through-obd2-diy-proxy-allignment.html

2. 8.4 touchscreen ; Quite a bit more complicated than TFT cluster swap, pieces needed include; RE2 or RB5 radio, bezel with or without light piping, screen, A/C controls, module, A/C wiring harness, HVAC controls, console with DVD player (optional) video signal wire, mirror W/mic, compass (optional) hands free module (if not already equipped)

Base CD/radio to 8.4 RE2 or RB5 with nav and depending on what functions you want. Not plug and play, going to involve wire splicing and running/ matching circuits plus anti-theft code + proxi

8.4 how to links;
https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/dodge-dart-electronics/14890-base-radio-8-4n-questions.html

https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/dodge-dart-electronics/5188-what-needed-add-8-4-re2-radio-tft.html

https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/dodge-dart-electronics/9549-any-way-update-8-4-8-4n.html

3. Base vs RE2 vs RB5 tuners ; What works with what, and what else you need for any to work, that being the case.

How to links;

https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/dodge-dart-electronics/7725-re2-rb5-radio-upgrade.html

4. Adding Back up cam in trunk ; So far it looks like wiring is all there if you already have 8.4 touchscreen. Can anyone confirm that all Darts have that wiring?

How to links;

https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/dodge-dart-electronics/45809-3rd-party-camera-uconnect-8-4-a.html




That's all I can think of for now. My hope is that through asking Q's and getting answers we can greatly Condense all of the info out there so anyone looking can find it All in one Short thread!

Once we get things rolling and sorted out from easiest to hardest as well as all options in between, can link threads to each for simple access. :cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
526 Posts
@ig2mdThwifsDart

I think that there is only one maybe two different TFT clusters: MOPAR 13' clusters with blue color programming to match the car, and the standard one with red color programming to.. match the interior of the car. I know the 13's didn't have one or two indicators that were in the later models but I think it's possible to swap them over and still gain the settings.

I do believe that also just changing out the trunk lid and getting the camera is all it really takes.

Either way someone make sure I remember once this thread starts rolling along so I can delete this post and keep it tidy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This the stuff we need to find out and condense. Don't think the # of pages in the thread will matter, 3, 5, whatever it takes to get this all straightened out.

I will just continue to edit the first post as info comes in so anyone coming into the thread will see all the info without having to look further ;)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,012 Posts
1 - You can't change the mileage on the Dart's odometer, at least not without some specialized hardware. All the proxi alignment does is take the mileage from the cluster (which is the source of truth for mileage) and feed it into the other secondary modules, which stops the flashing that is caused by the discrepancy in mileage.

2 - You can't add the nav function to a Uconnect 8.4 that didn't come with it from the factory. Unlike the newer Uconnect 8.4A, the older units in the Dart that do not have nav also do not have the hardware for it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
1 - You can't change the mileage on the Dart's odometer, at least not without some specialized hardware. All the proxi alignment does is take the mileage from the cluster (which is the source of truth for mileage) and feed it into the other secondary modules, which stops the flashing that is caused by the discrepancy in mileage.
This part I understand, but reading through several threads it seems that a few have gotten the mileage changed to match theirs.

2 - You can't add the nav function to a Uconnect 8.4 that didn't come with it from the factory. Unlike the newer Uconnect 8.4A, the older units in the Dart that do not have nav also do not have the hardware for it.
This is what I was afraid of. So Nav 8.4 touchscreen is a different unit than 8.4 without Nav.

I have begun to edit original post and will continue to do so over the next few weeks until All pertinent info is filled in.

Some of what I add will be conjecture until proven wrong or indifferent. I've done this purposefully as it seems the quickest and easiest way to get to the facts.

If anyone is aware of other good links that I haven't posted feel free to suggest them and I will ad them to their location. I'm trying to stick to simplest first, then more complex as it goes. Think my order is wrong? say something! lol

If info I've posted is Wrong, Correct me! :cool:

Shouldn't take too long and we will have a comprehensive data base for everything involving these swaps. If I've missed anything that you feel belongs in this family of swaps, please make suggestions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
2 - You can't add the nav function to a Uconnect 8.4 that didn't come with it from the factory. Unlike the newer Uconnect 8.4A, the older units in the Dart that do not have nav also do not have the hardware for it.

So far everything I'm reading is in disagreement with this. Apparently adding Nav is as simple as swapping in the RB5 tuner and if you already have sat antenna just proxi and activation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
526 Posts
This part I understand, but reading through several threads it seems that a few have gotten the mileage changed to match theirs.
If you take the cluster to a dealer and give them the vin and a bill of sale they can do it for you for a fee. I don't know what that fee is. I think he was just trying to clear up you can't actually change the mileage on the cluster yourself or with alfaobd.

So far everything I'm reading is in disagreement with this. Apparently adding Nav is as simple as swapping in the RE5 tuner and if you already have sat antenna just proxi and activation.
Yes you are correct. You need the RB5 (Uconnect 8.4N). The RE2 will not work ever for GPS. It just doesn't come with the nav stuff built in. I'm wondering if you find an RE5 from a junker that already had nav activated, do you still have to go through that or just code and proxi and done?

Found From 2017:
yeah for the 8.4 system that does not have nav you just need the RB5 tuner, get the anti-theft pin for it, install it and a proxy alignment. Also note the RB5 has to be from a Dart.
Source: https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/dodge-dart-electronics/7725-re2-rb5-radio-upgrade-23.html

There are many more sources I could cite, but this sums it all up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Originally Posted by Javelin3o4
"yeah for the 8.4 system that does not have nav you just need the RB5 tuner, get the anti-theft pin for it, install it and a proxy alignment. Also note the RB5 has to be from a Dart."

So this would say that all 8.4 touchscreens are the same and you don't need a Specific one for Nav vs no Nav.

Also assuming from what I've read that all TFT's are the same, not Specific to Nav. Although there is some conjecture whether some have turn by turn function vs not...….
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
735 Posts
Originally Posted by Javelin3o4
"yeah for the 8.4 system that does not have nav you just need the RB5 tuner, get the anti-theft pin for it, install it and a proxy alignment. Also note the RB5 has to be from a Dart."

So this would say that all 8.4 touchscreens are the same and you don't need a Specific one for Nav vs no Nav.

Also assuming from what I've read that all TFT's are the same, not Specific to Nav. Although there is some conjecture whether some have turn by turn function vs not...….
TFT Clusters arent all the same. The 2014+ had a oil life monitor page that the 2013's don't have. If you slap a 2014+ model in with oil life monitor into a 2013 you are gonna have a page that doesn't work AFAIK.

When first upgraded to the NAV tuner and the TFT cluster I did not get turn by turn on the cluster until I used AlfaOBD to change the car configuration to add the TFT Cluster sales code to my car then did a proxy. As soon as I did that turn by turn worked.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
TFT Clusters arent all the same. The 2014+ had a oil life monitor page that the 2013's don't have. If you slap a 2014+ model in with oil life monitor into a 2013 you are gonna have a page that doesn't work AFAIK.

When first upgraded to the NAV tuner and the TFT cluster I did not get turn by turn on the cluster until I used AlfaOBD to change the car configuration to add the TFT Cluster sales code to my car then did a proxy. As soon as I did that turn by turn worked.
Good info! If you'll notice, I put "as long as compatible model year" in the TFT description. What I meant by that is exactly what you just said. So If your year of Dart has features in the dash that are specific to that year, you will need that specific TFT cluster. Point I was trying to make was that there are not 2 separate TFT's for each years. eg. 1 being for Nav and one being Non Nav.

I remember reading about yours and the speculation whether you didn't have turn by turn while some others did because there may be 2 different TFT clusters. When I read through the entire AlfaOBD thread and got to the part where you verified that you were able to enable the turn by turn feature, I then decided to state that the TFT clusters were the same for each and any given model year with same features. (maybe I should change description to what I just wrote? lol)

Same with the 8.4 touchscreens, because they are described as 8.4n vs 8.4 it gave the impression that you may need a Nav 8.4 vs all 8.4 touchscreens being the same. After reading through threads where people simply changed out the RE2 radio to RB5 and Nav appeared on touchscreen, that kind of said that the 8.4 screen isn't Nav specific. (I think yours was one of the threads that pointed this out to me.)
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
4,414 Posts
So far everything I'm reading is in disagreement with this. Apparently adding Nav is as simple as swapping in the RE5 tuner and if you already have sat antenna just proxi and activation.
So what does that actually mean to just swap the RE5 tuner? I have always known that the 8.4 and 8.4N were completely different units and there was no upgrade available, per jsblanch. However, it seems that may have been disproved, but I am not entirely following the process of how it's done. What exactly is the "RE5 tuner"? Is that the module that is in the passenger side footwell area? If so, that was what was considered the "radio" unit itself. I know I was always told by my dealer that the screen is just the screen. The actual control unit for the radio is down in the footwell.

With that being said, what jsblanch is saying (believe) is you cannot just simply "turn on" NAV on the 8.4. The new 8.4A apparently does have that feature. You just roll up to the dealer, say I want NAV, they insert a chip or something and boom there you go. Where as replacing the unit in the footwell is essentially replacing the 8.4 unit with a 8.4N unit (if SAT antenna is available).

Is that what is being said here? I did a quick skim through the link you posted on it -23 pages so I only hit a few points lol. I just want to make sure that's cleared up for my own sake and others looking.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
So what does that actually mean to just swap the RB5 tuner? I have always known that the 8.4 and 8.4N were completely different units and there was no upgrade available, per jsblanch. However, it seems that may have been disproved, but I am not entirely following the process of how it's done. What exactly is the "RB5 tuner"? Is that the module that is in the passenger side footwell area? If so, that was what was considered the "radio" unit itself. I know I was always told by my dealer that the screen is just the screen. The actual control unit for the radio is down in the footwell.

With that being said, what jsblanch is saying (believe) is you cannot just simply "turn on" NAV on the 8.4. The new 8.4A apparently does have that feature. You just roll up to the dealer, say I want NAV, they insert a chip or something and boom there you go. Where as replacing the unit in the footwell is essentially replacing the 8.4 unit with a 8.4N unit (if SAT antenna is available).

Is that what is being said here? I did a quick skim through the link you posted on it -23 pages so I only hit a few points lol. I just want to make sure that's cleared up for my own sake and others looking.
Great Q! Here's my understanding after everything I've read;

IF you already have 8.4 touchscreen and RE2 radio AND it is Sat ready, so you have the GPS ready antenna, You can simply swap out the RE2 radio for an RB5 radio + proxi/ activation and you will now have Nav.

So Yes, the radio is the unit that you need to remove the glovebox to replace. switching RE2 to RB5 would change 8.4 to 8.4N.

Because everyone associates "8.4" with the touchscreen itself, and because the home screen for Nav is completely different looking than Non Nav, I myself was confused into thinking there were 2 different touchscreens. 8.4 and 8.4N

Only after reading through almost every thread I could find was I able to come to the realization that the touchscreen is just that, a touchscreen/monitor. The "brains" are the RE2 and RB5 radios and they dictate what is going to appear on that screen.

So @jsblanch is correct, you can't simply "turn on" Nav because the RE2 radio Doesn't support it. You need to install the RB5 radio (8.4N) and once activated, then you have added Nav.

This is also the reason I started this thread, because I will be doing several swaps over the next 6 months and on and I figured, If I'm going to take the time to sort out my own confusion about all of this, why not sort it out in a way that benefits Everyone!?

When this thread is done, it will list all parts and part #'s in the first post, so anyone thinking about performing any of these operations will Clearly see what's needed before they even open a link for "how to" support.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,292 Posts
With all the problems people have with the 8.4 touchscreens and nav, perhaps some would prefer to swap to the base Uconnect 200 and then use their phone for GPS. What would be involved and I assume the connectors are the same? What about all the extra speakers?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
526 Posts
With all the problems people have with the 8.4 touchscreens and nav, perhaps some would prefer to swap to the base Uconnect 200 and then use their phone for GPS. What would be involved and are the connectors the same?
I concur. I have the 8.4N (RB5) and I don't have any problems with it except for the fact that the nav is just trash... If you removed NAV from my car, I wouldn't even care! Lol. I would be more excited for someone to figure out the input schema for the radio unit so we can finally wire in the module to have carplay! If you have a base radio, if you want to go to just the 8.4 touchscreen, that's one thing, but then to go to NAV you might as well just go the extra mile and get an aftermarket head unit with good working up to date ish GPS or carplay features.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
With all the problems people have with the 8.4 touchscreens and nav, perhaps some would prefer to swap to the base Uconnect 200 and then use their phone for GPS. What would be involved and I assume the connectors are the same? What about all the extra speakers?
I would think the procedure would be around the same, but should be able to confirm that in the near future.

Biggest plus would be the fact that it would cost you nothing. Since others are looking for the very parts you would be removing, and the base pieces are dirt cheap, you could swap your touchscreen pieces for the base pieces Plus get $'s on top!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Anyone tried to replace their 8.4n with an aftermarket double din stereo? I got all the stuff but the harness came with a 52 pin connector and I have a 22(?) pin connector that came out of my rb5. Is there a way to splice a 52pin in with the appropriate wires or do they make an adapter for it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
735 Posts
Anyone tried to replace their 8.4n with an aftermarket double din stereo? I got all the stuff but the harness came with a 52 pin connector and I have a 22(?) pin connector that came out of my rb5. Is there a way to splice a 52pin in with the appropriate wires or do they make an adapter for it?
The problem I see with that is your are going to lose all those options in the 8.4 such as the remote start options, how long to run the coolant pump for the turbo, how long to leave the head lights on, on approach as well as your AC controls, if you have heated seats and stuff. One thing I thought if possible would be get get the small like 4" screen that comes in other FCA vehicles and mount that somewhere else to keep that for option changes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
I would also like to point out that if you putting a used RB5 in your car, you must know the donor car's vin. Once you put the unit into your car the unit will ask you for an anti-theft pin. My dealer was able to provide me with the pin, but needed the serial number from the RB5 unit and the vin from the donor car.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
735 Posts
I would also like to point out that if you putting a used RB5 in your car, you must know the donor car's vin. Once you put the unit into your car the unit will ask you for an anti-theft pin. My dealer was able to provide me with the pin, but needed the serial number from the RB5 unit and the vin from the donor car.
Yeah when I got my RB5 I wrote the VIN in sharpie on the tuner below the model/serial label. Took a picture of it for when I went into the dealer to get the anti-theft PIN.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Yeah when I got my RB5 I wrote the VIN in sharpie on the tuner below the model/serial label. Took a picture of it for when I went into the dealer to get the anti-theft PIN.
That's a good idea. I wrote the security pin for the new unit in the manual. Since it doesn't change.
 
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
About this Discussion
23 Replies
10 Participants
Javelin3o4
Dodge Dart Forum
Dodge-Dart.org is a forum dedicated to the Dodge Dart. Join and participate in discussions about body kits and performance mods. Get the latest tips, news, browse the classifieds, and more!
Full Forum Listing
Top