Dodge Dart Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what is that infront of the battry with the red plug i bought a dart an this is cut out of it.

Hood Motor vehicle Car Vehicle Automotive design

·
Super Moderator
4,984 Posts
Smart Drive Unit. It drives the hydraulic pump for the DDCT.
Product Font Rectangle Engineering Parallel
Rectangle Font Screenshot Parallel Circle
Water Rectangle Slope Font Parallel

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Smart Drive Unit. It drives the hydraulic pump for the DDCT.
So I'm no mechanic but it applies to a standard also right? Just making sure because i got cut wires right there and I don't know what's going on in the car. It's actually my first car i ever owned. Just got it so trying to figure out the problems with it now, and how bad is this for the car because it runs and drives.

·
Super Moderator
4,984 Posts
If you have a manual transmission, you do not need a SDU. The DDCT is an automatic. Someone has done a transmission swap. Good that it's a manual now because the DDCT is the worst automatic transmission possible in a Dart. You probably have all kinds of codes and messages on the cluster if the swap was done without the electronics. Get a scan and post the codes so we can figure out if any of it is a problem.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If you have a manual transmission, you do not need a SDU. The DDCT is an automatic. Someone has done a transmission swap. Good that it's a manual now because the DDCT is the worst automatic transmission possible in a Dart. You probably have all kinds of codes and messages on the cluster if the swap was done without the electronics. Get a scan and post the codes so we can figure out if any of it is a problem.
what if the car was already standard an they put a auto engine harness in ? n cut them wires off?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·