Dodge Dart Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I'm new to the page and I figured this would be a good place to start since I know nothing about these cars but I'm looking to purchase one. This is the link to the car I'm looking at - Rocky Motors.

I've heard there are some issues with transmission reliability, but also that that's less of an issue on the manual. Unfortunately the type of engine isn't listed, all I know is it's a 6-speed manual - not sure if that helps. I think I'll be checking the car out in person tomorrow, but wanted to get some general input from people who actually know the car.

Any issues I should be specifically looking for?

Thanks for your help!

·
Super Moderator
4,117 Posts
Get the VIN and then get a build sheet to see what the options are.

·
Premium Member
6,366 Posts
Hey everyone, I'm new to the page and I figured this would be a good place to start since I know nothing about these cars but I'm looking to purchase one. This is the link to the car I'm looking at - Rocky Motors.

I've heard there are some issues with transmission reliability, but also that that's less of an issue on the manual. Unfortunately the type of engine isn't listed, all I know is it's a 6-speed manual - not sure if that helps. I think I'll be checking the car out in person tomorrow, but wanted to get some general input from people who actually know the car.

Thanks for your help!
It's a Dart GT (obvious from the wheels, but it also says GT on the trunk) so it has the 2.4L Tigershark engine. The biggest issue is oil consumption issues that a significant number of 2.4L engines experience. There is a service campaign for a software fix that addresses "excessive vacuum" that apparently causes oil to get past the piston rings, but to date I think it only applies to 2014 Darts. Find out if there are service records for this car to see if the previous owner(s) has complained of excessive oil consumption.

·
Registered