Dodge Dart Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody!

My 2015 Dart SXT 2.4L A/C is blowing hot air. The compressor is still engaging/running but no cold air.

The shop I took it to says the compressor is leaking. The compressor alone is about $750. Per the shop, some other components have to be replaced to keep the compressor's warranty. The R1234yf is expensive too. They quoted me approximately $1500 for the total job (which I think is pretty much a complete new system, charged and installed).

Is there anyway I can confirm that the compressor is leaking on my own? I've never used this place before, but they're the only ones in town with the 1234yf equipment.

Has anyone ever tried an A/C compressor from a scrapyard? I can get one for about $75, just not sure if it's even worth trying.

Any help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
332 Posts
I probably would not get a compressor from the junk yard if they would even sell it to you.

Try RockAuto:
https://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/dodge,2015,dart,2.4l+l4,3309781,heat+&+air+conditioning,a/c+compressor,6628

The thing is they have a compressor that's $750, but most shops have a markup on parts even if it is a small amount so i doubt that four seasons is the one they're selling you. Sometimes the markup comes from hiring a parts delivery service to pick this up and bring it to them and sometimes its for shipping, or even you know just because....

You also might want to ask them specifically if theyll even do the work if you bring your own parts before you order anything. Most will however back in the day i ran across a couple shops that wouldnt.

·
Registered
2,614 Posts