ALFAOBD (Advanced diagnostics through OBD2, DIY Proxy Allignment) - Page 3
Follow Us On Follow us on Google Plus Follow us on Facebook
    Register

    ALFAOBD (Advanced diagnostics through OBD2, DIY Proxy Allignment)

    This is a discussion on ALFAOBD (Advanced diagnostics through OBD2, DIY Proxy Allignment) within the Dodge Dart Electronics forums, part of the Dodge Dart Garage - The Mopar Zone category; Originally Posted by jsblanch Do "sales codes" actually add features (ie. code) to the BCM, or do they just enable otherwise dormant features? I would ...

    User Tag List

    Page 3 of 20 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 200
    Like Tree51Likes

    Thread: ALFAOBD (Advanced diagnostics through OBD2, DIY Proxy Allignment)

    1. #21
      Jackman
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      This user has no status.
       

      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      244
      Vehicle
      2013 Dart Limited/1.4T/Dual-Clutch Transmission/Blue Streak Pearl
      Liked
      50 times
      Mentioned
      14 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Quote Originally Posted by jsblanch View Post
      Do "sales codes" actually add features (ie. code) to the BCM, or do they just enable otherwise dormant features? I would expect that for the sake of simplicity, all BCMs would be manufactured with identical software and the relevant features for a given vehicle would be activated during the assembly process.

      Also, would the OBDLink SX USB adapter work just as well as the MX Bluetooth adapter? The MX is an extremely expensive adapter and the SX is like 1/6th the price, at least here in Canada. From what I can tell, the MX's additional features are for compatibility with proprietary Ford and GM CAN bus setups, but I know little about these connectors.


      Good God. That is ridiculously expensive in Canada! In the US--on Amazon, at least--the SX is $29.95 and the MX is $79.95.

      The extra features on the MX allow access to the Ford and GM stuff, yes, but they also allow access to all of our ECUs without use of additional adapters. Given that price differential, though, you may wish to get one of the cheap ELM 327 units and then use something like this right here to allow access to the additional features. You just have to remember to plug / unplug / replug with the right pigtail for each different ECU that you want to read.

      And, I don't really know much about the sales code thing. I'm really just not sure if the sales code thing involves a separate flash or just changing a toggle in the software. For instance, like the SXT Charger with the RT pack and how it gets extra horsepower, or unlocking the SRT pages and GPS on some models. I'm not sure if that's just a toggle or a re-flash. I don't think there's anything like that in our cars, though. If there was, then I don't think we'd be able to do the thing with adding the digital dash and the different steering wheel switches and have it all come out right with just a proxi.

    2. #22
      Jackman
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      alpinegreenneon's Avatar
      This user has no status.
       

      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Location
      NW Wisconsin
      Posts
      455
      Liked
      271 times
      Gender
      Male
      Mentioned
      37 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      The Data Link Connector adapters enable you to use Bluetooth dongles from various manufacturers besides the recommended OBDLink MX. If you get the OBDLink MX make sure to get the Bluetooth version, not the WiFi version which is not supported. I was able to get the pinout for the DLC (Data Link Connector) on our Darts. This may help you figure out if your dongle needs an adapter.
      Name:  dartDLCpinout3.jpg
Views: 205
Size:  40.5 KB
      pkgmsu2000 likes this.
      -Case

      16 Dart SXT 2.0 TorRed stock
      16 Dart SE 2.0 Laser Blue Pearl stock
      98 Sport Coupe DOHC Alpine Green ATX stock
      95 NYG ACR Coupe (restored)
      03 Dakota QC 4.7 4x4 ATX Patriot Blue stock


    3. #23
      Jackman
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      josh16's Avatar
      This user has no status.
       

      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      473
      Vehicle
      2014 Dodge Dart Rallye 2.4
      Liked
      156 times
      Gender
      Male
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      I emailed the developer regarding the ability to add sales codes and I got this message:
      "On my understanding, when a new part, like foglights, is
      installed the proxy configuration of the car has to be
      adjusted for the new part to function. This functionality
      is in test mode and available per request
      I'm not sure if this is enough in all cases, maybe some
      equipment (like radio/navigator) needs to be additionally
      initialized with a sales code. Are you able to identify a
      sales code for any of the ECUs from the data displayed by
      AlfaOBD? It must be a three-letter code, right?"

      To me this sounds like there is the ability to add sales codes but it is something that we would need the developer to do for us on a per case basis
      Modifications:
      Appearance:
      Solargard Tint (22% front, 17% rear)
      Mopar "Dart" Sill Guards, front and rear splash guards
      Brighttails error free full LED conversion (interior, license, reverse)
      Gloss Black Plasti-Dipped 17" Rallye Rims, Red Painted Calipers
      Morimoto 9012 HIDs 5000K & H11 LEDs 5500K
      TFT display
      Luxe taillight tint

      Performance:
      HPSI cold air intake with ram air
      RRM Stage 1 (Spectrum, Pulley, Header Blanket)
      Sprint Booster
      Champion RE16MC Copper plugs (gapped 0.047)

    4. Remove Advertisements
      Dodge-Dart.org
      Advertisements
       

    5. #24
      Jackman
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      This user has no status.
       

      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      244
      Vehicle
      2013 Dart Limited/1.4T/Dual-Clutch Transmission/Blue Streak Pearl
      Liked
      50 times
      Mentioned
      14 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      I really don't know.

      I do know that the dev WILL work with you on this, absodefinilutely.

      The ECU reports don't seem to contain any sales codes, so far as I can tell. I'm looking at one of my BCM things right now, and there's nothing obviously there. The only thing that I see that's likely to be relevant is where it says--for instance--"Remote Start Present: Yes," "Ambient Lighting Present: Yes," etc.

      We might be able to cross-reference things like that over to sales codes found on the build sheet?

      Adding sales codes may be a thing only relevant to a dealer. The car itself may not know or care.

      But, man, now I really really really want to plug this in to one of the new 200's / 300's that has a screen but needs the Navigation turned on. I'd LOVE to see if I could enable it with this.

    6. #25
      Jackman
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      Javelin3o4's Avatar
      This user has no status.
       

      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Location
      NorCal
      Posts
      629
      Vehicle
      2013 Dart SXT 1.4
      Mods
      TFT Cluster Swap | RB5 Swap | Footwell LED's | IP Bezel LED Swap | Kicker 8" Sub & 6x9's
      Liked
      117 times
      Gender
      Male
      Mentioned
      17 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Quote Originally Posted by josh16 View Post
      I emailed the developer regarding the ability to add sales codes and I got this message:
      "On my understanding, when a new part, like foglights, is
      installed the proxy configuration of the car has to be
      adjusted for the new part to function. This functionality
      is in test mode and available per request
      I'm not sure if this is enough in all cases, maybe some
      equipment (like radio/navigator) needs to be additionally
      initialized with a sales code. Are you able to identify a
      sales code for any of the ECUs from the data displayed by
      AlfaOBD? It must be a three-letter code, right?"

      To me this sounds like there is the ability to add sales codes but it is something that we would need the developer to do for us on a per case basis
      Main reason I was wondering was I figure that maybe because I don't have the Sales code for TFT and the RB5 on my vehicle that maybe that is why turn by turn does not show up on my TFT. I installed the TFT and the RB5 and just had proxy completed by the dealer. Everything works but turn by turn never showed up in the Nav, and I think there was also a option in the U-Connect settings for it too.
      Last edited by Javelin3o4; 02-28-2017 at 08:00 PM.

    7. #26
      Supporting Member
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      jsblanch's Avatar
      Supporting Member
      is is wishing he was driving...
       

      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Location
      Mississauga, ON
      Posts
      4,984
      Vehicle
      "Zippy" 2013 Rallye 1.4T DDCT - Pitch Black Ext. Black w/ Ruby Red Int
      Liked
      3202 times
      Gender
      Male
      Mentioned
      164 Post(s)
      Tagged
      1 Thread(s)
      Quote Originally Posted by PeterSteele View Post
      But, man, now I really really really want to plug this in to one of the new 200's / 300's that has a screen but needs the Navigation turned on. I'd LOVE to see if I could enable it with this.
      I bet they protect that sucker to make it impossible to bypass the 16 character case-sensitive alphanumeric activation code. I have been unable to find any reference to anybody who has managed to enable NAV on an RA3 unit without purchasing this activation code, which is itself based on a 22 digit "request code" that the RA3 unit generates as well as the vehicle's VIN. I'm also willing to bet the developer would want no part of that functionality, because it could bring legal hassles from FCA (warranted or not). I mean, they charge USD $595.00 for those 16 characters, so they probably don't want people to get it for free by using $50.00 of cables and and dongle and software they maybe pirated off the Internet.

    8. #27
      Jackman
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      alpinegreenneon's Avatar
      This user has no status.
       

      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Location
      NW Wisconsin
      Posts
      455
      Liked
      271 times
      Gender
      Male
      Mentioned
      37 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Except that the developer is in Russia (I think) and could care less about FCA lawyers and if he could reverse engineer that activation code, he would if it would increase his income. If he was concerned about FCA legal issues, we would still be at the mercy of dealers just to find out what codes are being set.
      -Case

      16 Dart SXT 2.0 TorRed stock
      16 Dart SE 2.0 Laser Blue Pearl stock
      98 Sport Coupe DOHC Alpine Green ATX stock
      95 NYG ACR Coupe (restored)
      03 Dakota QC 4.7 4x4 ATX Patriot Blue stock


    9. #28
      Tire Carrier
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      chigou's Avatar
      This user has no status.
       

      Join Date
      May 2014
      Location
      Wisconsin
      Posts
      89
      Vehicle
      2013 Dart SE
      Mods
      35% Tint all around. TFT swap, 8.4N swap
      Liked
      12 times
      Gender
      Male
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Quote Originally Posted by Javelin3o4 View Post
      Main reason I was wondering was I figure that maybe because I don't have the Sales code for TFT and the RB5 on my vehicle that maybe that is why turn by turn does not show up on my TFT. I installed the TFT and the RB5 and just had proxy completed by the dealer. Everything works but turn by turn never showed up in the Nav, and I think there was also a option in the U-Connect settings for it too.

      Talk with Alexey about this, he can get the turn by turn to function with his software.

    10. #29
      Tire Carrier
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      chigou's Avatar
      This user has no status.
       

      Join Date
      May 2014
      Location
      Wisconsin
      Posts
      89
      Vehicle
      2013 Dart SE
      Mods
      35% Tint all around. TFT swap, 8.4N swap
      Liked
      12 times
      Gender
      Male
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Quote Originally Posted by josh16 View Post
      I have also noticed that if you select the Fiat Viaggio/Ottimo under BCM>Instrument Panel there is an option to write the odometer reading. This Active diagnostic is not available under the Dart. Perhaps if someone is willing to be the guinea pig this software could make TFT swaps much easier.
      As of last year he hadn't figured out how to change the odometer.

    11. #30
      Jackman
      Rank
       
      Rep
       
      josh16's Avatar
      This user has no status.
       

      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Location
      Toronto, Canada
      Posts
      473
      Vehicle
      2014 Dodge Dart Rallye 2.4
      Liked
      156 times
      Gender
      Male
      Mentioned
      39 Post(s)
      Tagged
      0 Thread(s)
      Quote Originally Posted by chigou View Post
      As of last year he hadn't figured out how to change the odometer.
      I asked him about this as well and he said that it is not possible to do with his software on the Dart.
      Modifications:
      Appearance:
      Solargard Tint (22% front, 17% rear)
      Mopar "Dart" Sill Guards, front and rear splash guards
      Brighttails error free full LED conversion (interior, license, reverse)
      Gloss Black Plasti-Dipped 17" Rallye Rims, Red Painted Calipers
      Morimoto 9012 HIDs 5000K & H11 LEDs 5500K
      TFT display
      Luxe taillight tint

      Performance:
      HPSI cold air intake with ram air
      RRM Stage 1 (Spectrum, Pulley, Header Blanket)
      Sprint Booster
      Champion RE16MC Copper plugs (gapped 0.047)

     

     
    Page 3 of 20 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast

    Sponsored Links

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  

    Similar Threads

    1. ODB2 diagnostics
      By webpoet73 in forum Dodge Dart Tweakers Anonymous
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 07-30-2016, 11:57 AM
    2. Any Success with getting proxy alignment and sales codes
      By boricuaman879 in forum Dodge Dart Electronics
      Replies: 11
      Last Post: 05-28-2015, 02:24 PM
    3. Call of duty advanced warfare
      By pitajr in forum Xbox/Playstation Forum
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 11-23-2014, 01:44 PM
    4. OBD2 data logger
      By djchriss in forum Dodge Dart 1.4L MultiAir Turbo
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 06-15-2013, 02:07 PM

    Search tags for this page

    hide ip me socks5
    ,

    proxy 50na50

    ,

    socks5 foxyproxy

    Click on a term to search for related topics.